top of page

Free Books

Let us have a chat about free books. Again I wonder if someone offers up a book for free; what the purpose is.

I have a published series, and for me the first in the series is free. My sales haven’t been all that great on the other novels, so it just tells me that the first one needs some more work. Yes, I am gonna get on that…eventually.

I see free books all the time. Some are full length and some are less than novella. When I see the four thousand word novels, I wonder if it is worth the read. Well if I was the one who could write short novels, then of course I would say yes. I want someone to look at my work no matter the time I put into it.

Hmmm just made me think of something else. Anyway, read those short novels because everyone deserves to be read. Good or bad, if it’s free, why not. However, I refuse to pay for a four thousand word book. That in my opinion says the writer is only out to see what they can sell. Greed should never get in the way of art, and yes, what we do is a true form of art.

I read a free novella last week and it started off well. The middle showed great promise, and then it fell off into a five-page one-sided email conversation. Boring! I would have appreciated a bit of dialog in there. Perhaps a phone conversation would have been better. This says nothing about the author but pure laziness.

So, I will get off my soap box now. Take a chance and read the free books. You may find a gem, and you may not. And if you don’t, don’t berate the author about it by leaving nasty reviews. They worked for the work they have done, and are proud of it even though it may not be that good to you.

Until next time,

Kayresia


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page