top of page

Book Endings

Do you have an ending for your book when you start it? A lot of times I don’t. Hence the reason I would guess that some of my books never get finished.

Endings are important. They are the goal, something to look forward too. Once upon a time, I would visualize the ending to my new novel in my head, write the ending, then create the rest of the book based on how I knew it would end. It seems that somewhere in all the years of writing, I moved away from that. I am currently working on something new, and well, to put it mildly, it is something way outside of my comfort zone. But we all have to do that at one point, right? Anyway, I am working on a romance with the underlying tone of crooks. Jewel thieves to be exact. I did my research (as much as my money would allow) and I began. Keep in mind, I had no idea how it is going to end at the point I started it, but it seemed like a good idea.

Almost finished with it now, and well, up until a week ago, I didn’t have my ending. This put a wall slamming halt on the finish. I had no idea what I wanted to do, so I had a serious situation on my hands. I looked to my friends.

They gave me some awesome ideas, and well, I am happy to say, my novel has an ending now. Creativity has a lot to do with that. If you can’t see it, you can talk to your friends until you are blue in the face, and still nothing will come to you.

So, book endings. Work on them first. If you get an idea, think of how you want it to end before you start. You may not have the blockbuster you planned, if you don’t.

Until Next Time,

Kayresia


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page